Mick Heys Wins the Winter League 2020

The final putt on the final hole on the final day of Winter League…Mick Heys secures the title by one stroke. Winter League is one of the most popular competitions of TGC golfing life and once again it didn’t disappoint. With only 4 points separating the top four it was undecided until the very last Sunday but started way back in October 2020. Experienced Winter Leaguers know the art of getting those six scores in early as the inevitable disruptions always come the way of the winter months. Mark Wareing was the early pace setter with the kind of steady scoring that saw him top the inaugural Summer League chart for so long. Geoff Whitworth looks odds on after a 43 & 44 in successive weeks before Xmas and then three months of Sundays to get in his final rounds and improve where he could – but alas no golf until April. When the final run kicked in it was Mick Heys who took his opportunity with a 42 point haul and then 39 points for his compulsory – true clutch time winning rounds.

On the final day Ryan Gaffney was a big favourite and after a less than average front nine of 14 points Mick thought it was done. But, cool as the proverbial cucumber, Mick was steady away and after the par at the 15th and 16th it there were cries of “well, you never know. A par and birdie would be good to finish..” And so it was; a fantastic third shot to 6ft on 17 was duly dropped and then a steady drive and chip to 18 left Mick with a 25ft chance which he took. “Your back 4 were the polar opposite of mine” quipped Geoff. Mick Butcher and Ryan were close but not quite close enough, just falling short at the last to let the Moroccan Caddy carry the clubs and the title home.

The final standings….

The Winter League 2020

RankPlayerR1R2R3R4R5R6CompulsorySht's LstTotal
1Mick Heys303333353642393248
2Geoff Whitworth293133334344314247
3Mick Butcher323435353636381246
4Ryan Gaffney333434373739311245
5Simon Hemmington313233353536370239
6Niall Gaffney293035363939281236
7Chris Thornsby303134353839290236
8Allan Stobbs303031353839310234
9Phill Ellis303034343537330233
10Warren Duckworth272732363637281223
11Jonny Rob272832333338290220
12David Marshall253030303233350215
13Andy Wade252628313436350215
14Charlie Holloway232728343435330214
15Steve Scholes223031313137320214
16Mark Wareing31323436384001211
17Matt Edwards252629303340272210
18Craig Vest272829293034310208
19Carl Earnshaw242628313439200202
20Russ Waring262930303233180198
21Pete Borders222526283138220192
22Stuart Priestley21263132363800184
23Chris Godfrey28282830303400178
24Rob Ogden3233333436001168
25Vince Korobczyc2932333538000167
26Steve Hill2225373940001163
27Matt Saxon2930313336001159
28Clive Cook19192429303200153
29Adam Gibson20222628282800152
30John Barker15192525293600149
31Tom Gilbert2727293134000148
32Dez Crossley2426293132000142
33Mike Sparkes343434370000139
34Barry Mills1820283536001137
35Dale Chew283137400001136
36Marcus Calvert253436380000133
37Deon Webber1623272834000128
38Tom Durham263334350000128
39Alan Payne252936360000126
40Godfrey Pickles1722262830000123
41Mick Parenti242526360000111
42Chris Hartley1820212130000110
43Joe McClernon2530360000091
44Dave Rushton2830310000089
45Bobby Fielden2429350000088
46David Omerod2431320000087
47Aaron Terry-Davis2331310000085
48Reece Gill2226320000080
49Trevor Barnes333800000071
50Glenn Duckworth303400000064
51James Steven293300000062
52Isaac Davey Day303200000062
53Russ Whiting283300000061
54Mick Shackleton282900000057
55Sean Mclernon253000000055
56Lewis Bowes262700000053
57Harry Whitehead143300000047
58Richard Wood172800000045
59John Stobbs39000000039
60Jim Frain35000000035
61Mick Barnes34000000034
62Gary Brierley32000000032
63Andy Roberts31000000031
64Christian Hughes28000000028
65Andy Hutchinson28000000028
66Nigel Halstead20000000020
No Comments

Post A Comment