Sean McLernon Wins The Presidents Prize 2021

After two immaculate rounds Sean McLernon wins the President’s Prize 2021 – five shots ahead of the field.

It couldn’t have finished closer at the end of round one of Mick Parenti’s President’s Prize after starting in glorious fashion. On a befittingly beautiful day play got underway on one of the hottest days of the year so far. A gift of a bespoke pitch mark repairer was a top touch from the President before play began but after a few photos and few pleasantries it was down to some serious competition. Out on top of that first round came Brian Green – right up there in the in form stakes – and going out birdie/par to card an impressive 41pts. With only a wobble on 3,4 and 9 Brian made 6 pars on the back nine to finish one ahead of Sean and Simon Hemmington.

The three way battle for the title saw Brian’s single shot advantage fade away on the front nine with a blob on the first and sixth. Simon’s challenge took a similar dive with a blob on the 3rd and, despite a birdie and 4 pars in the next 7 holes, another blob on the 11th marked the end. Sean’s form of late, With two matchplay victories in The Fred Hirst and the Pairs plus a fine 20pts in Summer League preceding the final Saturday, saw him home with a final round total of 39pts and the outright win on the day. The two double bogeys on his card were never going to stop a birdie and 8 pars deciding the fate of this year’s winner.

As much as Mr President was out of the running, he enjoyed the competition for this coveted prize. “Thanks to everyone who helped make the day very special”, said Mick Parenti. A relaxed 4BBB comp was put on for the day and these were the winners – a three way tie for first so decided by countback in the end!

1st – Mark Wallis & John Hodson 42 pts
2nd – Geoff Whitworth & Barry Mills 42 pts
3rd – Glenn Duckworth & Stu Jackson 42 pts

The president also enjoyed an unprecedented prize giving. As John Hodson pointed out TGC has not had a Major prize presented outside of the clubhouse. But given the fantastic weather to cap a fantastic competition it was duly done. A great turn out to support the President in his first year saw Sean pick up his trophy and share some thank you’s and a little about the win…even how Charlie Holloway’s eagle on the 11th managed to keep him firmly focused.

There were an array of prizes given out including Matty Saxon’s long awaited prize for his 2019 Fred Hirst victory…never too late and just good it wasn’t some sort of cake that had to wait two years for the recipient.

Well done to all the winners for the days comp as well as the President’s Prize winners and runners up including, David Marshall, Rob Watkins and Simon Hemmington. Even Mr Captain Dave Rushton and Captain of last year Mick Shackleton received their Captain’s ties.







You can catch the full result over on HowDidIDo

No Comments

Post A Comment