Winter League Winner

Rich Mills was the deserved winner of the Winter League 2019. After the delayed compulsory rounds Rich “Tricky” Mills came in with a mighty last round of 40 points to snatch the league title. Tied with with Andy Wade going into the last round a near faultless round of 4 under par was never put under any telling pressure. He nearly aced the 7th hitting the dance floor 4 inches short of the hole. Andy Wade, the leader until the last round, said ” Rich was a deserved winner. No matter how good a round Phill or I put in that was going to be difficult to match. Great to see one of the new lads take the prize [Grrr ;-)]”. The Cockney Bandit was awful on the greens. After just lipping out on a 25ft putt on the first for 3pts he three putted for fun and after a blob on the fourth never really recovered. Phill Ellis was as steady as ever and looked like snatching second from six shots back before a flurry of one pointers on the back nine had him settle for a fine fourth place, just being pipped to third by Mick Heys on account of Mick having a stronger last round. Jonny Robertson took fifth after another steady round.

After the game Rich said, “Thanks for coming”. Rich, we’re sure, will work on his acceptance speech at the presentation but for now the golf doesn’t need much improvement. Congratulations to Rich Mills

The Final Table

The Winter League 2019

RankPlayerR1R2R3R4R5R6CompulsoryComp 2Sht's LstTotal
1Rich Mills35393535344035402293
2Andy Wade38383940363329314284
3Mick Heys36353834343332360281
4Phill Ellis36373836393526341281
5Jonny Rob35343836344028354280
6Craig Vest30354144333027303270
7Pete Borders36323243373921303270
8Chris Thornsby36323732343536260268
9Tom Gilbert36334030322932342266
10Charlie Holloway35343733383426261263
11David Marshall29353636283532290260
12Mick Parenti37383430323526251257
13Carl Earnshaw34313534303332250253
14Dez Crossley35313032302934301251
15Clive Cook33343333323723250250
16Isaac Davey Day32242826352737340243
17Mark Wareing3635383434372601240
18Allan Stobbs29363132343417230236
19Richard Wood22334127302429271233
20Vince Korobczyc3034343030373500230
21Russ Waring30303029292928240229
22Alan Payne3429323330292600213
23Dale Chew333235423234000208
24Steve Scholes343629324229002202
25Glenn Duckworth312939343234001199
26Stu Jackson303836352830000197
27Nick Stocking313034333332000193
28Mike Sparkes2230332632222600191
29Godfrey Pickles2327252618292300188
30Simon Hemmington3837252132320170185
31Chris Mitchell2431362425251700182
32Chris Hartley21192423252024210177
33Geoff Whitworth342432313531000177
34Matt Saxon32332630003100152
35Andy Hutchinson23392721310000141
36Keith Lowry26282628320000140
37Nigel Halstead2939353500000138
38Warren Duckworth32212528230000129
39Bill Simpson21252127330000127
40Chris Godfrey2835332800000124
41Adam Gibson2617000027310101
42Ryan Gaffney272023290000099
43Matt Edwards30282700000085
44Sean Doyle14233100000068
45Mark Harper3333000000066
46Paul Daggers25142600000065
47John Stobbs18221800000058
48Keith Lacy360000000036
49Mark Wallis280000000028
No Comments

Post A Comment